Strength, Courage and Wisdom

Strength Courage Wisdom“Do not pray for easy lives. Pray to be stronger men. Do not pray for tasks equal to your powers. Pray for powers equal to your tasks. Then the doing of your work shall be no miracle, but you shall be the miracle.“~Phillips Brooks

To be strong is to be powerful. The use of this power, however, can become effective or efficient in a specific direction, only if it is combined with courage and wisdom.

Strength embodies many attributes like :-

  • Physical power, derived form muscular vigor.
  • Tenacity, meaning power to exert, resist and endure.
  • Toughness, implying great firmness and resilience.
  • Character i.e. moral, spiritual and intellectual power.

These are inherent human assets and resources(strong points)that can make us striking or superior in a particular way. But, we cannot be strong and powerful all the time and we are usually aware of this fact. So, do ask yourself a simple question: Now that I have confided in myself about my strong points and I know what is right about my attitude, Why dont I also confess my biggest short comings?

I think there is something therapeutic to be gained by being a little more honest about your weaknesses and short-comings. If nothing else at least you will know where there is room for improvement, especially in your moments of crisis and need.

Courage is not overcoming fear, but rather it is standing on ground, inspite of it. It is a disgrace to refuse to rise above fear. No-one ever failed because he was afraid; he only fails in life because he does nothing about his fear and not display courage. Fear arises from lack of knowledge and uncertainty. Knowledge and certainty are important as there help us find courage and determination. But we must add a deep dedication and conviction to knowledge and understanding, to destroy fear and tip the balance in a positive way.

Courage needs to be combined with confidence. A person must be knowledgeable and enthusiastic in order to have courage, but he must accomplish and experience in order to gain confidence. The world makes way for the person who says “I CAN, BECAUSE, I KNOW I CAN”. A person must have the character and self-discipline and wisdom to withstand success. Our confidence naturally grows with our successful experiences.

When faced with problems you must add a little wisdom and a lot more courage, to your actions in order to achieve you ultimate objective. Remember, that all those people, young and old, who have been rewarded for bravery and recognized for merit in times of battle and crisis situation, were ordinary people like you and me. They were fully conscious of their inherent strengths and their best came out in terms of courage and confidence in their hour of testing and reckoning, which made their timely and forceful actions, so very memorable-for themselves and for others.

Our problems must not be allowed to dampen our resolve and shake our confidence in ourselves.

If we try to analyze, we will find that our problems are normally of three types:

  1. Tragedies– There are problems which we are confronted with because of the situation which is beyond our or anybody elses control. eg. accidents, environmental calamities. We have to accept it and move on. We can only pray for strength to get over it quickly. We must never forget that God always makes up in the end ad has His own strange ways of granting compensations.
  2. Trial and Tribulations– Often there are problems that are created for us by other people, who might have some kind of petty issue with you eg. jealousy etc. Such problems we have to handle boldly and forcefully. For this we must muster all our courage to resolve the situation more positively to our benefit. Courage know no bounds.
  3. Self Created Problems– Most of the time the problems we are faced with are of our own making. These can be handled and solved very effectively and quickly provided we ge to the root cause and come to grips with them. Soon we will be surprised how easily everything get sorted out. We need to use our wisdom, more than anything else to find a solution to our self created problems. This requires self discipline.

Know your strength, find your courage and discover your wisdom. These are your powers.

Dreams are realized, not by mere wishful thinking, but by pursuing your ambitions with all the powers that you possess, and can muster.

“Ah, great it is to believe the dream as we stand in youth by the starry stream; but a greater thing is to fight life through and say at the end, the dream is true! “~Edwin Markham

What about you…Do you know your strength? Have you found your courage? Have you discovered your wisdom?

with love Zeenat

Did You Like this post? Posts are updated thrice a week! Get them emailed to your inbox or subscribe via RSS.

Please share this post on the social media site of your choice.

Share

Share via Facebook/Twitter/Stumble/Digg etc

39 thoughts on “Strength, Courage and Wisdom

  1. Hi Zeenat,

    I really love this post and #3 is one that I believe everyone needs to de-clutter their minds.

    Then if they do #1 and #2, #3 is less likely be a problem.
    I am not trying to be funny as I write here I am reflecting situations I have experienced.

    We each need time to reach acceptance and face what has happened was out of your hands. Things happen – life experiences are what makes us who we are. Bad things happen so we can appreciate the good ones more.Even when there is no explanation as to why things go wrong. Dwelling on them is dangerously unhealthy.

    De-cluttering the mind. I like that.

    xoxox

    1. Hi Bunny,
      Its so true. Dwelling on the past, slows down our progress to move further. But, not looking back at all will lead us to make the same mistakes again and again. So the healthier option is to learn while we are on this journey with every experience that comes our way.
      De cluttering the mind…Me like that too 🙂
      xoxo

    1. Hi Tabitha,
      It is a beautiful quote isnt it…I love the part about us being the miracle. It makes each and every one of us unique and perfect in our own right. And in believing in ourself and our own uniqueness we can truly be and create miracles in this life. We just need to believe.
      Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your thoughts. Appreciate it.
      Love
      Z

  2. “Courage is not overcoming fear, but rather it is standing on ground, inspite of it.”, so true. There is nothing wrong with fearing, it is normal. The problem starts only when allow that fear to stop us from going after our dreams.

    1. Hi Lana,
      We are our most courageous self in the eye of the storm isnt it…and most of the time we dont even realise it..till the moment has passed. Our own wisdom and strength will give us the courage to face even the biggest obstacle.
      Thank you for your lovely insight 🙂

  3. Dear Zeen,

    I liked this one: Self Created Problems- You are right, most often we lament over issues those that are created by ourselves. I’ve realized this long back in my life. When we fight with someone and put the blame on the other, I wonder we don’t think that “claps cannot be heard until and unless there are two hands involved in it”.

    I liked this post.:)

    1. Hi Remya,
      You said it so well with that example …“claps cannot be heard until and unless there are two hands involved in it”
      We need to first look within ourself, realize and correct our own flaws before pointing fingers at others.
      I am glad you liked this post 🙂 Thank you for such a lovely comment.

  4. Hi Zeenat,

    Tenacity is a favorite word of mine as it reminds me to keep going, even when the going gets tough. Somehow, some way, we always manage to get through our problems and come out the other side hopefully stronger, smarter and wiser.

    I agree. Those self created problems are something that need our immediate attention. It’s easy to say it’s because of “xyz”, but if we really look close at what we’re experiencing, it’s often the result of an action we took, or didn’t take and now we’re paying the consequences.

    Thank you for this thought provoking post.

    1. Hi Barbara,
      Tenacity is my favorite word too. Something to work hard for…:) There is a certain satisfaction that comes from within when we have worked hard for something and then achieve it.
      Its ironic how we are so quick to judge others rather than look at our own shortcomings. Most of these shortcomings are the root cause of most of our problems…still we manage to have someone to blame, its easier to point a finger at someone without realizing there are 3 fingers pointing right back at you.
      So glad you liked this post. Thank you so much for your insight 🙂

  5. “You shall be the miracle.”

    Yes, we all can turn our attention inward, even when well mired in difficulty. The trick is to remember to do that. Somehow, somewhere, we learned to look outward, to look elsewhere, to seek, search, scramble for answers, solutions.

    Yet the easiest thing to do (if we remember) is to look within for our own power, our own strength, optimism, confidence, and faith. With these, we can work miracles.

    Thank you for this article, Zeenat! 🙂

    1. Hi Julie,
      Your words are such a perfect extension of what this post is all about.
      Looking within is sometimes the hardest thing to do…but once we start, it can certainly become the easiest instinct to follow. for we are all born with intuition(growing wisdom)..just recognizing it at the right time can truly make all the difference.
      I am so glad you liked this post. Thank you so much for your truly lovely comment 🙂

  6. Every day, I feel like I’m finding more and more of my strength, courage and wisdom. Sometimes I struggle to recognize my own power, or I willingly dismiss it in favor of self-defeating thoughts and actions. Other times, I’m full of resolve. What I’m trying to learn now is how to maintain more steadiness so that there aren’t as many peaks and valleys.
    Lots of love & joy to you!

    1. Hi Megan Joyful Angel,
      It is indeed a struggle to constantly remain positive and strong. More so in the times of trials and tribulations. But, slowly while practicing self constraint and looking within in silence for a few minutes everyday, we can tap into those inherent assets that the Lord has bestowed upon us-strength courage and wisdom. It is a constant struggle with our ego….but its a journey inward..and it is the most beautiful journey to take 🙂
      Lots of love to you too.

  7. I believe I found my courage, strength and wisdom when I was a very young mother with four girls. The only other choice was to run! I was tempted but never did.

    However I’ve been through times when I’ve lost or misplaced my courage, strength and wisdom. It’s usually when life is going smoothly. Then if I have a crisis, tragedy or create drama and my back is against the wall it all comes tumbling back.

    Why don’t I do an interview with you. I’ll send the questions and then you write the answers. Then I’ll post it.
    What do you think?

    1. Hi Tess,
      Children have such a gentle way of teaching us so much. I agree with you completely…my little one is a learning experience for me everyday. I sometimes pull out my hair, and sometimes i cry with joy….but I am still happily blessed 🙂 Blessed for the love and blessed for the lessons God teaches me everyday through my trials, pains and happiness.
      Thank you so much for your lovely comment.
      p.s.I would love to do the interview 🙂 Send me the questions anytime by email.

  8. Hi Dear Zeenat, This is very beautifully written…as always.

    I think the greatest courage, and maybe the only true courage, is when we STILL act in the face of fear and feel NO courage at all.

    I found my courage when I went into the Australian jungle at age 25. It was the best thing that ever happened to me. Now I know that even if I am afraid of something I will not run from it. It may sound odd, but even though I may at times still feel fear I am comfortable feeling fear and refuse to let it restrict my world, and life. I refuse to let it limit my life experience. I also think there are many cases where it is a good thing to have a “healthy” fear of some things. OR rather I would say a VERY healthy AWARENESS of some things. But that’s another topic for another day. 🙂 🙂

    Sending you hugs and love,
    Robin.

    1. Hi Robin,
      A VERY HEALTHY AWARENESS is just perfect 🙂 Me like that 🙂
      Its a very positive outlook towards Healthy Fear. See how much i learn from you 🙂
      Its amazing how we can face our worst moments, and come out learning something form each experience. The only important factor to keep in mind is that the experience is a learning one..and the lesson is a gift from the Maker. That awareness needs to be there.
      Lots of love and hugs to you too 🙂

  9. Hi Zeenat!
    This post is gentle and powerful at the same time! Wonderful! I celebrate daily just being exactly where and who I am. I worked my way toward it – slogged, clawed, bashed, screamed, and fell many times. It’s here. It’s now. It’s about time! 🙂

    1. Hi Suzen,
      It is certainly about YOU!!! Life can be all thats good and all thats horrid all put into one box..the art of getting out of it all while still maintaining your sanity and learning from the experience is your true strength courage and wisdom guiding you through 🙂

  10. Hi Zeenat,

    My childhood, teenage years and twenties were full of one disaster after another. It was really bad. The one thing that always kept me going was hope. I always knew on some level that this pain would eventually end. I had no idea how or when but I knew that nothing lasts forever and that this too would pass.

    My courage came when I overcame the aftermath of my past. I worked really hard to heal and I did. Most people with my kind of past are not supposed to be happy or see beauty in life and in others. I never bought into that belief. Anything in life can be overcome. You just have to want it badly enough and do the work required.

    1. Hi Nadia,
      Hope is the driving force..isnt it 🙂 I befriended Hope a long time back too. It helped me to find my strength courage and wisdom eventually.
      What we do with our lives and which direction we take it in, is our choice entirely. whether we have had a traumatic past or a happy past…the present and the future are in our control..and it is a choice we make to be good or bad. Just making the choice sometimes can lead to a tremendous healing from within. And you Nadia are one such shining example..of how good can truly overcome and ugly past. I salute your courage my friend. I am still in the process…
      Lots of love to you 🙂

  11. Very well said, I think self examination is important when determining weaknesses. Additionally, I think that when you are courageous in the face of a tribulation, you then become strong and gain wisdom from that experience.

    1. Hi East bay Family Therapy,
      Courage in the face of a storm is what makes us strong.
      Thank you so much for your valuable comment. Appreciate it 🙂

  12. I pray everyday to become a stronger man. No doubt I have been hurt by forces beyond my control in the past, but that doesn’t mean I should quit – that I should give up. If anything, it means I should keep moving forward in spite of the hardship.

    I’m sure you’ve faced many hardships as well, Zeenat. Still you’re right here, sharing your wisdom with all of us.

    This post was eye-opening. We all need that reminder that even in the worst of times, we are still obligated to get stronger.

    Maybe one day, I’ll truly be strong.

    Thank you.

    1. Hi John,
      What a beautiful comment you have written here. Thank you 🙂
      All of us at some point or the other have been through our share of ups and downs…and in those moment we have thought our world would end…but it doesnt. We end up coming out of it even stronger. Thats true strength and courage my friend. Wisdom is an ongoing process, which increases with every experience we have, whether good or bad.
      Youre already so strong John. You have no idea how many peoples hearts you touch with you insightful writing. Your giving out good Karma…it will surely come back to you ten fold 🙂

  13. Jodi Sloane

    Hi Zeenat, Beautiful post! I have found my srength, courage and wisdom. They were certainly hard won! My current challenge is learning to live peacefully everyday; learning to be strong, still and at peace no matter what the daily drama may be.

    1. Hi Jodi,
      Glad you liked the post.
      I like your current challenge. It kind of sums up and eradicates all negativity ..doesn’t it 🙂
      The one thing I am still learning to be is STILL….all the others have been attained with a lot of struggle.

    1. Hi Stephen,
      Self created problems are our own making isnt it. We are so good at making these things up in our head and blowing them out of proportion…that in so doing we end up forgetting the actual issue …Ourself!!! We need to start analyzing our own behavior before we start getting caught up with these stones….and get buried under a mountain of them.
      Glad you liked the article 🙂

  14. Hi Zeenat .. what’s gone has gone – we should apply the strengths we know we have, the positive we need for ourselves and others, the courage to move forward and not flop about in inactivity – adjust our lives to fit these ideals and then we will have strength, courage and hopefully have acquired wisdom too.

    May I have strength, courage and wisdom to prevail at this time ..

    Thanks your words are true pearls ..
    Hilary Melton-Butcher
    Positive Letters Inspirational Stories

    1. Hi Hilary,
      Indeed what gone is gone!! Well said !!
      Whats the present and the future is in our control…and its upto us to look ahead and move forward or look behind and sulk.
      Thank you for the compliment about my writing. Appreciate it…and makes me blush 🙂
      Glad you liked this post.

  15. Zeenat, I wanted to comment on this blog entry earlier this week, but I was dealing with my own discovery of personal courage right beside my fears. This is a wonderful article filled with your wise insights and universal truths we all need to be reminded of once in a while.
    shine on,
    Laura

  16. Pingback: 5 Simple Steps To Enhance Your Happiness « ~Positive Provocations~

Comments are closed.