Love Will Truly Set You Free

pigeons in loveJust outside the bedroom window, there is a huge pole like structure on the far right of the window. In the groove that is between the window and the pole is sitting a grey mother pigeon. She sits on her layed eggs all day and all night without moving an inch. I kept wondering what she was eating, and spilled some grains for her to eat. But no movement. She sits there so still and and so at peace. Then one fine evening, as i was looking out of the window at the pitter patter of the rain, another pigeon comes with some thing that looked like food and put it in her beak. And he kept doing that for quite sometime. I guess till she was fully fed. Then that pigeon went away, and this mother still sits on her eggs giving them warmth. With her I also frantically wait for her little babies to hatch.

What amazed me the most about this pigeon and her other pigeon was the level of understanding between the two. One knew she had to sit and warm the eggs while the other knew he had to get the food. And not only get the food, but feed her the food, with the utmost patience. I just sit and watch in awe and wonder that God created Love, and put it in our hearts, but he also put love in the heart of all living creatures.

In my profession i often come across couples who are troubled and need a little help to rediscover their lost love and passion. The biggest problem that we humans have is taking each other for granted. And this doesn’t necessarily happen with just spouses, but it also happens in all our other relationships-siblings, friends, co-workers, parents, acquaintances…

As an abstract concept, love usually refers to a deep, ineffable feeling of tenderly caring for another person. Even this limited conception of love, however, encompasses a wealth of different feelings, from the passionate desire and intimacy of romantic love to the nonsexual emotional closeness of familial and platonic love to the profound oneness or devotion of religious love. Love in its various forms acts as a major facilitator of interpersonal relationships and, owing to its central psychological importance, is one of the most common themes in the creative arts.

true loveBut put all those normal meaning of love aside, and think of what love means to you. Can you truly pin point what it is…or do you have a vague idea of the preconceived notion of love, that has been told to you since you were little?
I personally feel like its a very gentle and soothing feeling that comes over your heart and soul. This feeling brings about an immense sense of belonging and oneness with the person or thing that brought about these feelings.  There is a feeling of complete and total amalgamation of souls when youre in love. But then thats my opinion.

In the true sense of it, love or being in love is truly considered one of the most deepest of experiences.

“I love you, not for what you are, but for what I am when I am with you.” Roy Croft

When we are in love so to say, everything seems perfect. In time when we begin to spend our life with the person we love or persons(parents, children, spouse, friends etc) we come to love their small habits and become acquainted with their needs. But, in time in getting to be so acquainted there is the point when things can go soar. When we feel like its just soemthing you have to do, rather than something you want to do. This usually happens, when the mutual love and respect have been tested over time. In the hustle bustle of life, we stop paying attention to the other persons needs and start focusing only and only on our-self. Focusing on yourself is a good thing, but not at the expense of hurting anothers feelings. We need to learn to find a middle road.

When a love is inhabiting you, or suffocating you, then its not really, love is it. It has changed. In love you dont need to change, you need to be you and be accepted for it. Love is empowering, not disrespectful. Love is gentle, not violent. Love is unconditional, not situation centric.

When you know you can be something, but your love makes you feel like you already are something, thats what true love is to me. Love can make you fly, support your flight and help you when you land face down.

Take the basic example of the pigeon on my window. The calmness with which the mother pigeon sits patiently over her little eggs and waits for her partner to bring her meal and feed it to her, tells me so much more about love than any human interaction i have seen. The purity and simplicity of love is embedded even in birds and other animals, all living things so to say. Then why we as human beings, the so called superior race of evolution cant understand the true essence of it. I think we have a thing or two to learn from our birds and bees and animal counterparts.

“Kindness in words creates confidence.
Kindness in thinking creates profoundness.
Kindness in giving creates love.”

– Lao Tzu

At the end of this post i would like to leave you with the lyrics of The Wind Beneath My Wings sung by Bette Midler. Just a perfect and realistic example of how love can truly help you fly.

“Wind Beneath My Wings”

It must have been cold there in my shadow, to never have sunlight on your face. You were content to let me shine, thats your way. You always walked a step behind.

So I was the one with all the glory, while you were the one with all the strength. A beautiful face without a name for so long. A beautiful smile to hide the pain.

Did you ever know that you’re my hero, and everything I would like to be? I can fly higher than an eagle, ’cause you are the wind beneath my wings.

It might have appeared to go unnoticed, but I’ve got it all here in my heart. I want you to know I know the truth, of course I know it. I would be nothing without you.

Did you ever know that you’re my hero? You’re everything I wish I could be. I could fly higher than an eagle, ’cause you are the wind beneath my wings.

Did I ever tell you you’re my hero? You’re everything, everything I wish I could be. Oh, and I, I could fly higher than an eagle, ’cause you are the wind beneath my wings, ’cause you are the wind beneath my wings.

Oh, the wind beneath my wings. You, you, you, you are the wind beneath my wings.
Fly, fly, fly away. You let me fly so high. Oh, you, you, you, the wind beneath my wings. Oh, you, you, you, the wind beneath my wings.

Fly, fly, fly high against the sky, so high I almost touch the sky. Thank you, thank you, thank God for you, the wind beneath my wings.

What does love mean to you? Have you been able to be the wind beneath someones wings? Or has someone been the wind beneath yours?

Please share this post on the social media site of your choice.

Share

Share via Facebook/Twitter/Stumble/Digg etc..

Photo credits: 1st pic-google images, 2nd pic Denio Stef’s photostream

40 thoughts on “Love Will Truly Set You Free

  1. Oh Zeenat~

    I am still learning with T how to show more patience and understanding. I want a happy husband but not at the expense of losing my individuality. We both have our own jobs but he gets more stressed and irritable. Usually when he doesn’t have enough sleep.

    Yesterday, T was working and I asked him a question. He answered me and continued to work when suddenly Illustrator crashed and he had forgotten to hit save. As a results he lost 15 minutes work. His reaction was more like a weeks worth of work but he was over tired.

    He proclaimed, HE needed to focus and stop distracting him! Now he is a very loving person but when he is tired it seems his feelings are taken out on me. I realize this but there is just so much I will take before I tell him, he is turning his frustration in the wrong direction. I am not the enemy and neither are his computers. lol

    He is mad at himself and not me. The computers are only machines. Raising his voice to me was not welcomed but I ignored it at the time.

    I did feel it necessary to bring it up this morning to him that he needs to think before he reacts to silly little things. I am not a doormat he can walk on when things are going as well as he wants.

    I smothered him with love after he apologized to me. We make a great team and we know each other so well I sometimes think we know each other better then we know our self. If that is possible.

    1. Hi Bunny,
      The fact that your thinking about him so much before saying anything remotely hurtful, even though you might be hurt, shows how much you truly love him and care about him.
      Think of a situation when you get angry and you vent or when you have your PMS and youre moody, who is there to be your punching bag? T isnt it.
      You both are perfect for each other….you both need each other without even knowing how much. So so sweet.
      Two bodies one soul….your love is like that 🙂 Hence you know each other better than you know yourself.

  2. Zeenat — I really liked this post. It reminded me of a favorite quote from the Prophet by Kahil Gibran. The quote is actually about marriage, but I think it applies to love, as well. I will not recite the entire passage as it is very long, but just the last stanza, which is my favorite:

    Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping.
    For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.
    And stand together yet not too near together:
    For the pillars of the the temple stand apart,
    And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.

    Thanks for reminding me about this and making me think about love:~)

    1. Hi Sara,
      What a beautiful poem you have shared here. You indeed brought out the essence of this post. Thank you for sharing such lovely words here.
      And I am glad i reminded you of love…that was the intention 🙂

    1. Hi Jonathan,
      Thats very true. Love can indeed move mountains and is the most powerful force in the universe. The problem is we take it for granted. The day we all learn to give Love its due respect….the universe will certainly be more at peace.
      Thank you for you lovely insight.

  3. Hi Zeenat.
    What gets me is that life without love is hardly worth living, and yet we actually know little about it and how to keep it in our world.
    Since that realization I have given myself persmission to learn about love and how I create it in my life. Before that I resisted learning about it as I thought that we humans should have it as indegenous knowing and thus why should I have to learn about it? I guess I was also angry that I lacked the most important skill in life and yet I studied so many years to get others.
    For me being love in action is how I keep love alive in my life.
    It means taking ownership of important relationships and I think Bunny gives a beautiful example of that when she takes ownership and sorts out what happened between T and her. Bunny, that was so great!!!!!!
    And you are great too Zeenat, love Wilma.

    1. Hi Wilma,
      I Love to read what you write, cause whatever you write just radiates so much wisdom in it. Your learning experiences have become my light.
      Taking ownership as bunny puts it and actually making the effort is of utmost importance. The realization that we actually do need love and in order to get it you do need to give it as well. Just that little feeling can really bring forth a superb change in our attitudes and in all our relationships.
      Thank you Wilma, for your radiance always.
      Lots of love.

  4. I love this post, Zeenat! This is really, really beautiful, and so touching. You have described love so beautifully, so perfectly…this is definitely my favorite post I have read in a long time…on your blog or any other! I don’t know what else to say except wow. Just…wow.

    1. Wow Jay…..I am all out of words. So much wow in one comment is overwhelming. But thanks Jay. I am so happy you love my description of love. But your appreciation is always always welcome. Thanks again.
      Hoping your health is fine now…

  5. Zeenat,

    Your words are so beautiful and a perfect description of what love is supposed to be. There are so many out there looking for what you have written about. I used to be one of those people. Thank you for reminding me how lucky I am to have the love that I have in my life.

    1. Hi Jill,
      We are lucky indeed. You and me both. We have found the loves of our lives. But, as you said there are so many who havent. And even the ones who have are somehow taking it for granted. Thats what makes me sad. Such a beautiful divine gift ‘Love’ and wasted over petty quarrels. Let all hope and pray Love finds us all in the right light.
      I am so glad you found my words beautiful. Thank you.

  6. Beautiful post, Zeenat… especially on my anniversary. I spent a good part of the day thinking about the day we got married, ten years ago. What was THAT feeling we had for each other? What is THIS feeling we have now? Are they the same? Which is better?

    If I had to choose between that silly, idealistic, fantasy-induced version of love, and this grounded, solidly bonded, trusting, comfortable love, I’d choose this one hands down. But they all serve a purpose in different phases of our lives, and I’m just thankful to be able to experience several different types of love… with my husband, my son, my parents, my siblings, and my friends (you!).

    Thank you for this heartfelt post, my dear!

    1. Hi Lisis,
      All the loves we have in our life indeed do serve a a different purpose. And each of these loves grows with time…thats what makes them so special. This growth that love brings in us is for me the wind beneath my wings.
      Thank you Lisis for your constant love and support.
      Lots and lots of love and hugs.

  7. I love the post and everyone’s comments. You’ve touched so many of us through these beautiful words. This line stopped me, and made me heart tingle with joy: “When you know you can be something, but your love makes you feel like you already are something, thats what true love is to me.” I couldn’t agree more.
    Much love to you and all of your readers. What a glorious energy it is!

    1. Dear Megan,
      I am happy to spread the love in whatever way i can…and you included in this love circle makes all the difference to me. Somehow with you, i feel a special connection…i cant put it in words. But i often feel like being in a conversation with you, and wonder if there is an email or facebook account where we can connect on a more personal level. Especially today. If i am not being too intrusive do let me know.
      Lots of love.

  8. Zeenat,

    I loved your description of the two pigeons somehow just knowing what each need from the other, and how to support each other. Sometimes we humans think too much and maybe we should just remember to feed and shelter each other and raise offspring 🙂 I’m sure the mother was grateful for the food he brought, and didn’t go on to ask questions like “Am I happy with this man?” and so on…

    Lovely post!

    1. HI Daphne,
      Am so glad to see you here today:)
      Its so simple na….the love those pigeons share…we human do indeed think too much, unnecessarily complicate……and then finally do very little.
      Thank you for your lively observation and beautiful comment.

  9. Zeenat, what an inspirational posting on love this is for me. I have been fortunate to have good parents who were the wind beneath my wings, and in turn, I was blessed to be able to be the wind beneath the wings of my own children.

    I feel that love is when the well-being of another becomes as important to us as our own, or even more important, as when we become a parent.

    1. Hi Karen,
      I agree with you completely. When we have children our outlook towards life changes. The same thing happened with me when my little one was born. I hope like you, I will be able to be the wind beneath the wings of my children.
      Am so glad you liked this post.

  10. Hi Zeenat .. the two pigeons are lovely and it is interesting how love is inbuilt in animals and birds, and they’ve worked out what works best for their species – the survival gene. The ones that fly off – also come back to the same nest, with the same partner .. perhaps they’ve travelled to Africa and back .. it is quite extraordinary.

    As you say we need to be kind and understanding of each other, I don’t think we take time to think sometimes or relate to the other person to what they’re saying .. sometimes we need to think of others, not ourselves.

    Great story about pigeon .. I’m afraid if you look at my post today the pigeon had a different ending .. sorry!! Can’t tell you – it would spoil the story ..

    Have a good weekend .. have you changed your header picture? I just think it wasn’t butterflies .. maybe my brain is in mix mode?!
    Hilary Melton-Butcher
    Positive Letters Inspirational Stories

    1. Hi Hilary,
      Youre the first person who noticed the header change. It was an abstract painting before, but i found this beautiful butterfly illustration and thought it would look good. What do you think? Was the old header better? You know your opinion does matter to me.
      Love is indeed extraordinary, whether its animals or humans. The problem with us humans is we have lost our ability to find the extraordinary or let say the magic in life.
      I loved the pigoens too…..the mother is still sitting on the babies. They have hatched but i guess are too little to move, so she is still giving them warmth. You can see one of the little babies popping their head out…so cute 🙂

  11. To me love means being kind, no matter what.

    I think I have been both the wind, and received it equally. Received it so much from God especially — could never match Him.

    Beautiful post, thank you.

  12. Dear Zeenat,

    I stumbled upon your blog today from your comment on Lisis’ blog. What a beautiful post about Love. It made me feel thankful for all the love I have in my life and to think about all the different kinds of love there are too. I first read about all the different kinds in bell hooks’, “All About Love.” An excellent book. She talks in depth about physical, emotional, social, cultural, etc and most importantly, to me – spiritual love. Love is a combination of all these, to me and felt at different times with different people. And for the lucky few, all in one person! 🙂

    Love is something that can and can not be defined but is something that subtly emerges, inspires, moves and liberates. Thank you for this!

    1. Hi Naz,
      So glad to see you here. I always love to meet new people with similar interests.
      Loved what you said about spiritual love. Love in all stages and aspects of our lives has a different charm to it. But when coupled with spirituality it can make you fly like nothing else can.
      I liked your definition or not-definition of live. Emerges, inspires, moves and liberates….so true.
      Thank you for you lovely insight.

  13. This is remarkable. You have a gift and it’s great that you share your writing with the world through your blog.

    My favorite line…it’s a very gentle and soothing feeling that comes over your heart and soul. It can’t get much better than that.

    I also agree with Isis that there are several flavors of love and I’ve been blessed to experience so many.

    Thanks for teaching us what love is not by telling us what love is!

    1. Hi Tess,
      Dont say so many nice things tess..i’m blushing …:)
      But really thank you for your compliments…they give m courage to take more chances with my writing.
      The different flavors of love are what makes it so beautiful at every stage..isnt it…
      Your comments are always just perfect 🙂 Thank you.

  14. I really like the story of the two pigeons. I wish I could’ve seen that out of my window 🙂

    Love is a very important aspect of our lives and should not be overlooked. For right now, my family has been the wind beneath my wings. I couldn’t rise any higher without them…

    Very touching post, Zeenat.

    1. Hi John,
      Youre lucky to have such a loving a supportive family. Cherish every moment of it.
      Come to India and you will see sights you could never even imagine…the pigeons are just a small example. We even have cows walking the road with their little ones…its upto us to find the beauty in it all isnt it 🙂
      Glad you liked the post.

    1. HI Karlil,
      Great to see you here 🙂
      Dont worry, you’ll find someone special soon. Your destiny will bring her to you when you least expect it.
      But till then love can be given and received with friends and family, which can be equally empowering.
      Thank you for you sweet comment.

  15. Hi Zeenat

    This is a lovely post, and full of the love you write about.

    The natural world (in this case the humble pigeon) carries so many lessons and so much wisdom if we have the eyes to see. I don’t know if pigeons actually feel love, but somehow that doesn’t matter – they can still show the way.

    1. Hi Ian,
      Lovely to see you here. Yes, its a mystery as to whether the pigeons actually feel love…..but they can sure show it. I guess in their case ‘actions speak louder than words’
      I am so glad you liked the post. Hope to see you here again soon 🙂

  16. Personally speaking, it’s hard to put the concept of love into words. It’s a divine feeling in which we connect with the other person irrespective of his/her condition(physical, mental, material).

    It’s ignorant of any reciprocity, expectation, ego and shortcomings. 🙂

    1. Hi Walter,
      I know you say its hard to put the concept of love into words….But your definition is just perfect. Divine feeling and connection irrespective of his/her condition and without expectation. Wow! That truly says it all.
      I am so glad you stopped by shared your take on love. Thanks 🙂

  17. Hey Zeenat,

    I loved the way you started off with two pigeons, you connected their life to that of Human love. I know how hard it is for people to understand each other. May in your profession, you come across couple who fights all their life and wanna get divorced.

    In my profession, I see robotic human beings, most of them do not even care for others!! No place for love then!! No one to rely on, no one to talk to when you are stressed out!! There’s so much difference in our worlds, yet you and me write more about these human feelings!!!!

    Very good write up Zeenat. Thanks to Indiblogger that I gotch u and to FaceBook that I can keep in touch. I’ll read other posts too sooner…..Keep Writing such wonderful thoughts….inshallah!!

    1. Hi Remya,
      I am so glad you loved this article. It is an article written out of love na!
      What you wrote about how the corporate world is, is so true. I know all to well cause my hubby is in the corporate field. There is a lot of negativity and stress involved. People can become very lonely in such an atmosphere. Thats why the need for counselors ….
      Pigeons update:-they babies have hatched and have flown away with their little ones.
      Indiblogger hooray for letting good people meet and connect.
      Hope to see you on the blog again.

Comments are closed.